Starting Paleo

I have been hearing about the Paleo Diet for a while now, especially as my husband is a personal trainer and Crossfit enthusiast.  You can’t hear about Crossfit without hearing about the Paleo way of eating.  So I bought Robb Wolf’s book, The Paleo Solution.  After reading it – it makes a lot of sense, and he’s backed it up with research – I decided to try it.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with this eating style (it is not a diet which to me means restricting calories and general deprivation), basically you eat like our hunter-gatherer (Paleolithic era, hence the name Paleo) ancestors – so meat, vegetables, fruit and nuts. Not beans, grains, rice or soy.  Every meal has protein and vegetables.  This may be difficult for some people as our Western society is highly dependent on grains as a food but I didn’t find it all that hard to eliminate from our diet. But then again, I love cooking and experimenting with substitutions or new recipes (as you will see on the recipe page).

I started the Paleo eating style last Sunday.  It was kind of accidental.  I had finished the book, and was going to plan out our meals for the following week.  But we just kind of started and I’ve kept going.  Why stop now?  To date, it has been fairly easy.  Sure, breakfasts are pretty standard but I think that happens to most people during the week anyway.  It’s pretty much eggs (boiled, poached, scrambled), bacon (sometimes) and berries or apples.  Lunches are the previous night’s leftovers and dinners are, this week at least, grilled meat and grilled vegetables.  Simple.  And with the appearance of warmer weather and all the fresh and local produce, it’s going to be easy to maintain this eating style throughout the summer. Besides, who doesn’t love barbecued meat!

Note: as a variation to our standard eggs and berries/apple breakfast I tried a coconut flour pancake recipe.  It turned out ok, with a few modifications and next time I will add more vanilla and perhaps a little dried coconut in the batter.  I will post recipe with modifications soon.

Leave a Reply

