Happiness is…

Being here: a farm at the mouth of the Campbell River (see photo).

I’ve been coming to this place on the east coast of Vancouver Island my entire life. In fact, it was my grandparents who first started coming to this wonderful place by the sea, then bringing their kids (my mom and her sisters). And eventually the grandchildren. Now the fourth generation is here, my kids. I hope they love it as much as I do.

This is the first time I’ve been back since we had kids and I was shocked by my reaction. It felt so good to be here – a homecoming of sorts. This is why:

We live in a fairly urban area but are close to natural parks and the sea. I need that proximity to nature – it refreshes my soul. I am much happier when I’ve had a good dose of forest, natural beach and ocean. Returning to my roots.

So we braved the long weekend ferry traffic and a bit of a drive and here we are. Refreshing my soul. For five entire days. And hanging out with family. It’s already a beautiful weekend.

The only thing that would make it better would be fewer clouds and a bit more sun.

20120630-143108.jpg

I have more to say but I am writing this on my phone and I want the rest of my stay to be “off the grid”. I’ll post more along with some pictures when I return to the city.

Happy Canada Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

