Back from vacation

Place for contemplation, at April Point LodgeI’ve been missing in action over the last few weeks since our family vacation to Campbell River, BC.  I’m still on vacation, at least in my head.

As I mentioned in my post Happiness is… it is one of my favourite places on earth.  I don’t know what it is about the farm – perhaps it is because my girls are the fourth generation to camp and play there, perhaps it is the mix of ocean, forest and grasslands along with the local fauna, or perhaps there is something else indefinable that resides there.  I haven’t figured it out yet but it is probably a combination of all three.  Whatever the case, going there restores my soul.

Note to readers: if you came here to read about food, it won’t be in this post so I suggest you go to the recipes tab or find the Food category.  This post is more about me and my connection to the earth.

Restores the soul.  Yes, I feel connected to myself again.  I can hear my inner voice.  I feel calm and happy.  Not the outwardly ecstatically happy you get from a great surprise but internally happy.  I can’t quite explain it in words; I do not have the right phrasing but I suspect some of you know what I am talking about.

Right now, although I live close to natural parks and the ocean (it is the end of an inlet, so not the same as the wild west coast or calmer east coast of Vancouver Island), I do not find that same sense here.  Maybe it is because there are more people, I don’t know.  But what I do know, is that I do need to make more regular excursions to the ocean and forest, preferably the two together, like at Sombrio Beach.

And so, back to Campbell River I go, in August.  And in the meantime, I am making time each day to remember that feeling of happiness and be grateful that I know what it feels like.

Leave a Reply

