Recipe: Homemade Coconut Milk

If you are following a Paleo diet, then you are probably familiar with the many uses of coconut milk.  I love the taste of coconut so when I saw actual whole coconuts at the local grocery store, I bought one.  My husband said “Why did you buy that?”.  Well, I wanted our kids to know where coconut milk and dried coconut flakes came from (they are quite familiar with where beef, pork and chicken comes from).

Beyond opening the coconut and trying the water inside, and eating the flesh I was not sure what I was going to do with it.  So when it turned out that no one wanted to eat coconut flesh except for me, I needed something to do with it so my $2.50 didn’t go to waste.  I then remembered a post from Rubies and Radishes on making coconut milk.  I was too lazy to go look it up but here’s what I did.

  1. Take out the meat.
  2. Using a grater (I don’t have a food processor), finely grate the coconut.
  3. Add boiling water until the meat is covered and let sit for 15-20 minutes (I didn’t measure the amount of water or time it).
  4. Pour water/coconut mixture over coffee filters (because I could not find the cheesecloth), inside a strainer. Let drain.
  5. Refrigerate the liquid – your coconut milk – and enjoy. Use within 2 days.

Personally, I prefer the taste of coconut this way.  It is really difficult, at least where I live, to find coconut milk without any thickeners like guar gum etc. and I think that probably alters the taste.  Next time though, I am going to do like Rubies and Radishes and blend the hot water with the meat, then strain.

I threw out the remains of the coconut after straining but felt this was a waste.  If anyone has some ideas what to do with it, leave a comment below.  Also any tips on removing the coconut meat from the shell would be appreciated too!

Leave a Reply

