Tis the season for zucchini

I have a plot, 10′ x 25′, in a community garden called Colony Farm. This is my second year of planting. Last year, before we dug it up, it was basically 250 square feet of grass.

This year, in spite of the cool, wet weather we have been having here on the west coast, and losing a number of my seedlings to slugs, my zucchini plants are thriving. Of the four seedlings I planted, three survived and are now producing an amazing volume of giant zucchinis! Actually, all my squash plants are doing well.  The only exception: the pumpkin that is supposed to produce 100 pound pumpkins (it’s actually probably for the best, because I don’t know what I would do with a pumpkin of that size).

This is what about 20 pounds of zucchinis look like.

I know it is hard to tell, but that is a full size adult chair.  Not a kid sized one like my friend thought when she saw the picture.  The biggest zucchini, on the left, weighed about 7 pounds!  I used some of that giant tonight in my green gazpacho soup, I cut off a big chunk for a friend, and I cut some discs to grill on the BBQ.  I still have a lot left.

So look for some zucchini based recipes posted here soon.  If you have a favourite recipe starring zucchini, let me know!

2 thoughts on “Tis the season for zucchini”

Leave a Reply

