Back to School (and a recipe)

And back to routine.

I like summer holidays but for the first time I’ve experienced a bit of relief that my oldest is back in half-day pre-school.  I miss her, for sure, but it also gives me some one-on-one time with my youngest and it also means that I am no longer solely responsible for M-F event planning.

This year though, pre-school also means staying for lunch but I’m off the hook until next week.  So stay tuned for Paleo-inspired lunch ideas for kids.

With the end of summer near, it is also our last chance to enjoy some our favourite foods – like blueberries, zucchini or fresh baby beets and carrots.  Right now, we are eating blueberries by the kilogram – and that barely lasts us a day!

In the meantime though, here is a quick recipe for chimichurri sauce which goes great with a freshly grilled, grass-fed steak.  There are many variations of this sauce but I like to keep it pretty simple.  By the way, for this sauce I don’t really measure, I just throw some ingredients together, taste and adjust, if needed.

Chimichurri Sauce

  • big handful of parsley (italian flat leaf or curly leaf), approx. 1 cup, packed
  • 4 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 1/4-1/2 cup olive oil (enough to blend, and some more to thin to your preferred consistency).
  • salt to taste (start with a pinch)
  • dried chili flakes to taste
  • splash of lemon or lime juice

Put in a food processor or blender and puree.

This is just my version that I made last night for our steaks.  Some recipes add a bit of cilantro and cumin and red wine vinegar instead of lemon juice, which is also tasty.  Or be creative and add some spinach or kale.  It also tastes great on grilled chicken (and I imagine, grilled prawns too).

Leave a Reply

