Back to the Kitchen, Post Vacation

We’ve just returned from sunny, warm Orlando, FL and are now immersed in the early stages of winter.  Which on the wet coast generally means cold rain, cloudy skies and snow topped mountains.  Today I saw the sun though, so the walk to school and subsequent pick up were rather nice but mittens are a must have now!

This wintery weather makes me want to stay home and bake.  I did attempt a baked Bosc pear upside down cake/cobbler but that recipe is not ready to be shared (thanks to my friends for being the testers).  However, I did make a really delicious beef soup/stew, and that is something I will share in the following post.

Also, on the drawing board, yam pancakes and country style pork ribs.

We get a lot of our meat from Hopcott Meats in Pitt Meadows, BC.  It is not 100% grass fed beef but it is hormone and antibiotic free, which in my books, is the next best thing.  I made a trip out there on Saturday and picked up a week’s worth of meat (and some local vegetables too).  For some reason, having all the food I need in the house for the week makes me really happy.  On the menu this week:

  • Monday: Spiced brisket with salad
  • Tuesday: Roast chicken and root vegetables
  • Wednesday: Roasted pepper chili
  • Thursday: Country style pork ribs with root vegetable mash
  • Friday: Chicken soup

With the exception of the chicken, these will be all new recipes for me so stay tuned for the results.

Leave a Reply

