Christmas Party Crock Pot Chili

Last night was the Christmas Party at Engineered Bodies Strength & Conditioning aka CrossFit Port Moody.  It was potluck style, which I find is actually really fun because you get to sample everyone’s food.  Everything was so tasty!

I had a couple of requests for my chili recipe so I’ve included it below.  A couple of things to note: I rarely cook from a recipe and often improvise as I go along.  In this case, I didn’t have any chili powder, so I skipped it and replaced it with fresh garlic, dried oregano, cumin powder, paprika and salt.  Here’s my best estimate of the ingredients. 

Kitchen tools required: 6L crock pot and skillet.

Ingredients:

  • 4 lbs grass-finished ground beef (could also do half ground pork too)
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 large onions, diced
  • 8 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 yellow and orange bell peppers, diced
  • 1 medium butternut squash, peeled and diced
  • 1 lb white mushrooms, sliced
  • 6 – 398mL cans of organic tomato puree (add more or less depending on your preference for sauciness)
  • 1 – 2 tsp salt (either sea salt or table salt)
  • 4 tsp dried oregano
  • 4 tsp paprika
  • 4 tsp cumin
  • Optional: red pepper flakes

Directions: Heat coconut oil over medium heat  Add half of the onions and salt, sauté until the onions start to become translucent.  Add half the garlic and half the beef.  Add half of the spices: oregano, paprika and cumin.  Stir, breaking up the ground beef into smaller pieces until beef is cooked through.  Remove this batch to the crock pot (if cooking today).  Repeat process with other half of onions, garlic and beef.

Add all the vegetables to the crock pot along with the tomato puree.

Set the crock pot to low for 6 hours.  Top with avocado slices, chopped cilantro, green onions and red pepper flakes. Enjoy!

If you are making this a day ahead, like I did, I first made sure all the beef was cooked through.  Then I added all the ingredients to a pot on the stove and brought it to a simmer, then removed it from the heat and refrigerated it.  The day of the party, I poured it all into my crock pot in the morning, set it to low for 4 hours and kept it on warm until the party.

And apparently people really liked it!

Leave a Reply

