Warm Yam Salad

I say warm yam salad but really this is just as good cold.  I first found a variation of this salad on PaleOMG’s website. But sometimes I don’t have all the ingredients.  However, I have found that roasted yams (or sweet potatoes) + balsamic vinegar + lime juice = very tasty.  In fact, it is a very forgiving salad that changes based on what you add in.  The recipe as written below is for what is in the picture.

Ingredients:

  • 3 large yams, peeled and cubed
  • 2 large bacon ends, chopped
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 1/4 of red onion
  • balsamic vinegar
  • lime juice
  • red pepper flakes (optional)

Roast yams and chopped bacon on a tinfoil covered baking sheet at 425F for 15 min then stir and cook for an additional 10 minutes, or until soft.  While the yams and bacon are cooking, chop the onion and cilantro.

In a large bowl, combine 1/4 c of balsamic plus a couple of tablespoons of lime juice.  I don’t measure, I just go by taste.  Add the onion and cilantro, and mix.  When the yams are baked, add to the dressing and mix well to combine.  It is delicious.  You can add more balsamic vinegar or lime juice at this point, depending on your personal preference.

As I mentioned above, this is a very flexible salad – you can skip the bacon (but, really don’t), or substitute green onions for red, Italian parsley for cilantro.  I’m sure there are other things I haven’t though of too.

If you try another variation, leave a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

